Tags

, , , , , ,

The biggest news this month, without a doubt, is the fact I finished a six painting commission!! WooHoo! I have had my focus hat on for the last month, determined I was going to finish the series of 5 x 7 inch watercolors before the end of July. I can’t express how relieved I am right now. YAY!! And guess what? I’m not taking any more commissions, unless the price is competitive. I have too many things I want to create. I’m diving back into digital art, painting and fractals, but I will have some watercolor projects on the side too. Later in the week there will be some other news pertaining to the pretty new image on the right (Other Worlds –>).

Despite painting, house-sitting, and entertaining my teenage daughter, I have been reading up a storm these last couple of months.

What I’m Reading Now:

Seven Wonders by Adam Christopher

Tony Prosdocimi lives in the bustling Metropolis of San Ventura — a city gripped in fear, a city under siege by the hooded supervillain, The Cowl.

When Tony develops super-powers and acts to take down The Cowl, however, he finds that the local superhero team Seven Wonders aren’t as grateful as he assumed they’d be…

Reviews on the Blog:

Carry the Flame by James Jaros

The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities edited by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer

The Walking Dead: Issue 100

Upcoming Reviews:

Reaper by K.D. Mcentire (Pyr)

Seven Wonders by Adam Christopher (Angry Robot Books)

Mockingbird by Chuck Wendig (Angry Robot Books)

 

Mini Review:

vN by Madeline Ashby
Angry Robot Books
Publication Date: July 31, 2012

I found vN via Angry Robot Books (I’m one of their robot army recruits). The description, title and cover pulled me in and I knew I had to read an eARC. But I’ll admit, when I began reading, I thought maybe I’d made a mistake. I was expecting something a little darker, a little more cyberpunk. vN isn’t like that, but it does have it’s share of dark scenes. The beginning seemed a little awkward, almost as if the author wasn’t sure which direction she wanted to take. I almost put the book down. I’m so relieved I didn’t. I kept reading and I fell in love with Amy (the main character) and her band of misfit androids. I laughed, I cried, I worried and by the end of the book I’d gone from thinking it was a 2 Star book to a 4 Star book. I can’t wait for the sequel. 😀