Tags

, ,

Gallery of HorrorBecause of hurricane-like weather and then random technical difficulties I was unable to post my mini reviews. But fear not, now you get a double feature!

Gallery of Horror 1983 – Evening Reviews

~ Down Among the Dead Men
by Gardner Dozois and Jack Dann

One Word Review: Painful

When I say painful, I’m not implying it was poorly written story.  I gave it 2/5 skulls because I found it too disturbing. The main characters are Jews, in a concentration camp somewhere in Germany. I have problems reading about the Holocaust because I find it so terribly painful, so sad, so awful. On top of this, it’s a vampire story. A Jewish vampire, also being held in the camp, is slowly killing his fellow Jews. I did not want to read about this, period.

The Authors: Gardner Dozois- Gardner Raymond Dozois (born July 23, 1947) is an American science fiction author and editor. He was editor of Asimov’s Science Fiction magazine from 1984 to 2004. He has won multiple Hugo and Nebula awards, both as an editor and a writer of short fiction. (from Goodreads)  Jack Dann- JACK DANN is a multiple-award winning author who has written or edited over seventy-five books, including the international bestseller The Memory Cathedral. (from jackdann.com)

 


 

~ In Darkness, Angels
by Eric Van Lustbader

One Word Review: Original

Initially I was concerned. I hoped I was not reading yet another typical vampire story. It certainly felt like one. Writer, struggling with a block, seeks out monster living in an ancient castle. What he finds instead is the monster’s sister and just when he’s forgotten about why he came there, the monster returns. But this is not the monster you think you know!

The best thing about this little short story is how Lustbader keeps everything in check till the very end. I was so shocked and surprised, my eyes glued to the page. In Darkness, Angels, is original, creepy and beautiful. I gave it 5/5 skulls!

 

The Author: Eric Van Lustbader was born and raised in Greenwich Village. He is the author of more than twenty-five best-selling novels, including The Ninja, in which he introduced Nicholas Linnear, one of modern fiction’s most beloved and enduring heroes. The Ninja was sold to 20th CenturyFox, to be made into a major motion picture. His novels have been translated into over twenty languages.

Mr. Lustbader is a graduate of Columbia College, with a degree in Sociology. Before turning to writing full time, he enjoyed highly successful careers in the New York City public school system, where he holds licenses in both elementary and early childhood education, and in the music business, where he worked for Elektra Records and CBS Records, among other companies. (via Goodreads)